Fort Cornwallis is situated at the spot where Captain Francis Light was supposed to have landed in 1786. Originally a wooden structure, the fort was rebuilt between 1808 and 1810 with convict labour. It was named after Charles Marquis Cornwallis, a distinguished Governor General of India, and designed as a defense against the French, Kedah, and pirates (at this time Anglo-French rivalry was at a peak).
Sir Francis Light would have never thought that the fort he built more than two centuries ago are still intake and filled with the everlasting rich history of Penang.
Admission Fee and Opening Hours
The admission fee to the fort is RM3/adult and RM2/child.
Tel: +6 04 261 0262
The operation hours is from 9am to 6:30pm from Mondays to Saturdays. This fort is closed on Sundays.